Searching for a blogging platform and stumbling upon Hashnode.dev

Searching for a blogging platform and stumbling upon Hashnode.dev

My website was my blog, but I wanted a more customizable blog then Jekyll. I tried making a 100% pure HTML and CSS blog using GitHub Pages as my host. Jekyll had a variety of templates that were slightly harder to customize than regular HTML and CSS. I thought it was a pain to have to view the site, rebuild the site, and then push the new work up to GitHub. It took longer than just pushing up the code to GitHub, straightaway. I used the Jekyll theme: Minima.

Minima is a one-size-fits-all Jekyll theme for writers.

I thought that this description could fit what my blog was about to support until I read the documentation and watched tutorials on how to upload one post. I had to run bundle exec jekyll serve to view the Jekyll site before pushing it up. If there was a mistake, I had to fix the mistake, then run bundle exec jekyll build to build the site. I thought this was a pain to run so many commands just to build the site plus git commands to push the site up to GitHub.

I joined Hashnode, then they released Hashnode.dev!

A dead simple blogging platform for developers

I requested access to the "simple blogging platform" and the next day, I was approved by some sort of process. As soon as I published my first post(s), I immediately knew that Hashnode.dev was the place where I could focus on my content instead of worrying about anything else.

If you want a place like Medium, but more awesome with Hashnode, I would recomend Hashnode.dev!

Note: I still maintain my website, but not for blog posts, I created something called Blasts which are like small blurbs of content, like tweets on Twitter!