Reviewing My First Programming Competition

Reviewing My First Programming Competition

Yesterday, I attended my first ever programming competition! It was a very exciting event. In this post, I will give you tips and a description of what the competition I attended was like.

Description

The computer competition area was in the building's computer lab, so that is the general layout and workspace you will be programming in. If you do not have side walls that separate your space from someone else's space, this may feel awkward, but you have to deal with it. Rules are generally monitored by staff. Such rules are:

  1. No cellphones or wireless devices
    So that you cannot "access" the internet or anyone outside the competition

  2. No food, drinks, or snacks
    This is a general rule in computer occupied areas

  3. Keep your eyes on your own screen (to prevent cheating)
    This is closely monitored in the competition I went to because the staff was walking around the whole time.

  4. Have fun
    A standard rule in every rule-heavy events

Platform

The competition I went to was hosted by HackerRank. The majority of the Operating Systems were Windows 10 and some macOS Sierra.

My Observations/Notes

  1. The competition gave out free T-Shirts, nametags, water, pizza, and snacks without ever saying so on the website
  2. The participants who signed up later than the deadline were allowed to participate
  3. The late participants were given handwritten nametags instead of printed ones
  4. The late participants disrupted the organization of the competition because there were not enough rooms and computers for one hundred more contestants
  5. The competition started an hour later than planned because of late contestants
  6. All events in the schedule were pushed back an hour
  7. The competition was an overall good experience

Tips

  1. Sign Up Early because that way you can ensure your spot in the competition
  2. Prepare early because I did not prepare enough for my competition, so I only completed one problem. This also means that you should learn your language fundamentally
  3. Find a friend/partner because this makes the competition more enjoyable, so the competition does not feel as scary
  4. Set Goals because you can strive toward that goal during your competition time frame